Competing for the “Rocky”

Our annual competition is designed to test our knowledge as amateur baseball fans against the so-called “experts” who are in fact professional baseball followers.  Prior to the start of the MLB season we predict the winners of the divisions and wild card slots, the pennant and World Series champions, and the individual MVP, Cy Young and Batting Title winners for each league.  A weighted point system determines the winner based on total points (see the breakdown below).  The member with the highest point total is the champion B.A.B.E.S. expert for the year and receives a personal replica of the Rocky to display proudly for all time.  (See the Hall of Champions page for past winners.)

The Rocky is officially The James L. Walker Award.  It is named for Rocky Walker, one of three B.A.B.E.S. founding members and a life-long baseball fan.  Rocky died on March 18, 2012, after a five-year battle with cancer.  Please read more about him here:

Joining the competition for the  Rocky is easy.  Just sign-up at the “Follow this blog by Email” widget and then, prior to Opening Day email us at “” with the following 21 selections:

– winner of each MLB division (6) and three wild card teams from each league (6),

– each league pennant winner (2),

– the World Series champ (1).

– MVP, batting champ and Cy Young Winner for each league (6).

Points are awarded as follows:

3 points for correct selections of division winners and wild cards (possible 36 points)

[1 point for picking a division winner that takes the wild card and vice versa]

6 points for each correct selection of NL and AL pennant winners (possible 12 points)

12 points for correct selection of the World Series champion;

10 points for each correct selection of individual awards (possible 60 points);

A perfect score is 120.


© JSR 2020

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s