James L. Walker Award – Hall of Champions

Our championship trophy is named for James L. “Rocky” Walker, one of the B.A.B.E.S. founders and a life-long baseball fan.  Rocky died on March 18, 2012, after a five-year battle with cancer.  Please read more about him here:  http://babesbaseball.com/2012/03/20/remembering-rocky/.

Past winners of the “Rocky” are:

2019 winner – Dan Nerdahl, 46 points (.404)

Dan with Rocky

runner-up – Jed Morrison, 43 points

2018 winner – Gus Pompa, 45 points (.395)

Gus with Rocky.jpg

runner-up, Chip Babcock, 44 points (so close!)


2017 winner – Hudson Stone, 57 points (.500/B.A.B.E.S. points and % record!)


runner-up, Bruce Ruzinksy, 56 points (.491/2d highest point total in B.A.B.E.S. history, and so close to the championship!)


2016 winner -Jack Rose, 44 points (.358)


runners-up, Rob Carington, Walter Stone (41 points)

2015 winner – Caleb Young, 28 points (.246)


runners-up, Patrick DeSpain, Ray Milluer, 22 points (.193)

2014 winner – Pat “Grammy” Stone, 53 points (.465)(3rd highest percentage in B.A.B.E.S. history)

Pat with Rocky


runner-up, J. W. Galloway, 42 points

2013 winner – Jeff Hamilton, 43 points (.377); 


runner-up, Matt Bardwell, 39 points

2012 winner –  Steve Jacobs, 45 points (.395)*;


runner-up, Marc White, 30 points

2011 winner – Leo Gonzalez , 31 points (.287);

San Antonio-20130117-00454.jpg

runner-up, Marc Whyte, 20 points.

2010 winner – Tom Marchiando, 28 points (.266)


(the only winner to have really played the game, Tom played D-1 in college and hit for a higher average than his B.A.B.E.S. winning percentage -.303, and had an OPS of .950 his junior year!)

runner-up, Tony Liccione, 27 points.

2009 winner – Tony Liccione, 49 points (.454 – 4th highest percentage in B.A.B.E.S history);

San Antonio-20130122-00457.jpg

runner-up, Marc Whyte, 48 points (.444)

2008 winner – Scott Rose, 15 points (.139 – way below the Mendoza Line, but still champion!);


runner-up, Steve Jacobs, 9 points.

* perfect score increased from 108 to 114 in 2012 with the addition of the second wild card teams.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s